Once activated, Google Calendar sync will import and export all eligible appointments and busy time events for the past two months and up to two years ahead of the current date.
Connect your Google Calendar with Appointible
- Login to your Appointible account.
- Open Settings and navigate to "My Profile".
- Find the "Calendar Sync" section and click the Google Calendar -> Connect button.
Note 1: only the service providers in Appointible can connect to an external calendar. A single service provider can connect to multiple external calendars.
Note 2: if you have admin rights, open the "Apps -> Calendar Sync" and manage external calendar connections from there.
First, click on the Google Calendar Connect button and login to your Google Account:
IMPORTANT! In the screen "Appointible wants access to your Google Account" make sure you SELECT ALL required permissions for Appointible to be able to sync your calendar events.
Lastly, select the sync options:
- First, select the desired calendar if multiple calendars are available in your Google Account.
- Then select if you want to sync events to your selected calendar from Appointible:
- Check "Appointment events" if you want all future appointments assigned to you to be synced to Google Calendar.
- Check "Busy time events" if you want your future busy time events to sync with your Google Calendar.
If you are not sure, you can change these settings later. The Google Calendar sync will start after you click the "Start Sync" button.
Google Calendar Sync Status
After Google Calendar is connected you will see the current sync status and available actions:
- The Edit button to update your sync preferences.
- The Reconnect button is visible only if there are problems with your Google Calendar connection and you are required to reconnect.
- The Disconnect button to remove Google Calendar Sync from your account.
Sync Events to Google Calendar
All future appointments assigned to you will be synced to Google Calendar if you select to sync appointment events in your Google Calendar Sync settings. Your Google Calendar will receive updates in seconds after an appointment is updated or canceled.
If an appointment is deleted or assigned to another service provider in Appointible, then at the same time, the appointment will be removed from your Google Calendar, too.
The same logic applies to the busy time events created in Appointible. Ensure the Busy Time events sync is enabled in your Google Calendar sync settings. Your Google Calendar will receive updates in seconds if a busy time event is updated or removed.
Sync Events from Google Calendar
Initially, the events from Google Calendar for the past two months and up to two years ahead of the current date will be synced to your Appointible account. This can take 1-10 minutes after you connect your Google Calendar first time.
Later new events and updates are synced automatically in 10-20 seconds on autopilot. Here is what to keep in mind:
- An event marked as Free in Google Calendar doesn't block time in Appointible from booking new appointments. To block time in Appointible make sure you mark Google Calendar event as Busy.
- An event marked as Public in Google Calendar will display details like the event's Title and Description to your team members in Appointible, who can access your calendar.
Updates in Google Calendar to appointments:
- You can reschedule an appointment to another date and time using Google Calendar.
- You can add additional notes to appointments using Google Calendar - the Description field is synced with the appointment's Summary field.
- You can't cancel an appointment in Google Calendar.
- You can't delete an appointment from Google Calendar. If removed, it is removed only from your Google Calendar, and after the appointment is updated, it will be recreated.
Your Private Events from Google Calendar
If you don't want your Google Calendar private event details to be visible to your team members in Appointible, make sure it is not Public, but marked as Private in Google Calendar event edit:
Then, after the event is synced to Appointible, a team member with access to your calendar will see only the time when you are not available with no private details: